Wine Bloggers Conference, Thursday, July 21
International Wine Tasting Night
Let me first say that I was a scholarship recipient, and for that I am quite grateful.  Thank you for all the people who donated to the scholarship fund.  If it hadn’t been for them, I would not have made it to the WBC.  With that being said; however, I was quite disappointed in the reality of the conference, for the most part.  As a first time participant, maybe my expectations did not match that of the organizers.

These are my thoughts on the first event of the conference, an international wine tasting night, which I was quite excited about.  As it turned out there were a total of 6 tables pouring wines, this to me is quite a poor showing. I’m not saying that the wines were not good, some were tasty, but we were an incredible, captured audience wanting to try a variety of wine – we blog about it, tweet about it, FB about it – talk about free press, yet it didn’t seem like very many wineries, distributors, or importers were very interested in showing their portfolios.  Disappointing for us, and bad decision for them.  Many of the pourers were just that, someone who was called in at the last minute who had no idea what they were pouring, where the wines were from, what the tasting notes were, or any type of story behind the wine.  They even confessed that they knew nothing about the wine.  For a WBC, you would think they would be prepared to talk about the wines at length.  Review of day 2 coming up.

