The Wine Bloggers Conference starts July 21st, just 5 days a way in Charlottesville, VA.  I’m so excited I would actually think about swirl, sip, and NOT spit!  Heaven forbid.  The night of July 21st is the International Wine Tasting Night – to sip and spit, or to sip and swallow – what a dilemma!  Some of the sponsors that have graciously offered wine for the event include Wines of Chile, Wines of South Africa, Aveniu Brands, Vibrant Rioja, and Planet Bordeaux.

I may know your opinion of wine bloggers – stuffy, full of verbose tasting notes- well, that’s not me – I’ve studied at the International Sommelier Guild (ISG), but I have a long way to go educationally speaking – I like it, or I don’t – it’s that simple.

Speaking of a down to earth, full of education (Master of Wine), author, speaker, James Beard Award Winner (well, I could go on and on), is Jancis Robinson.  Like I said, you may think of wine bloggers as trifle, but Jancis is a keynote speaker – quite the coup!  Wikipedia mentions that “She currently writes a weekly column for the Financial Times, and also writes for her website www.jancisrobinson.com.

I bought the 3rd edition of the book she compiled and edited, the Oxford Companion to Wine from Amazon, thinking it would be great to get her to autograph it.  OMG!  This hardback book is over 800 pages and weighs over six pounds – oh, you know, some light reading on the plane.  NOT an electronic copy obviously.  But the pictures and information are just astounding and simply wouldn’t do it justice in an electronic format.

Follow the conference events as we blog on Twitter – look for the hashtag #wbc11.  See you there personally or virtually!

