I am proud to announce that I am now an official student of the International Sommelier Guild.  You can go through a 3 track series of classes to become a certified sommelier, but I am taking the series to craft my wine education.  I’m not sure what to expect, but get this…the class is every Sunday (sorry Dallas Cowboys) from 12-7pm!  The class starts this Sunday, Oct 3rd, 2010 and runs through Jan of 2011.  Quite a long haul, and that’s only track 1.

Being a huge NFL fan, it looks like I will have to turn into a college football fan (because college football is on Saturdays), which is quite alright.  I graduated from the University of Texas at Austin, so I will be cheering on the Texas Longhorns (Hook ‘Em!) and saying hi to “BEVO”, our proud mascot.

Quoted from the ISG web site:

“The course offers a basic understanding of the major grapes used for making wine and their discerning characteristics as well as an introduction to fortified and sparkling wines. You will taste wines from around the world and be introduced to fortified and sparkling wine as well. Upon completion of this course you will have learned some basic wine terminology, understand label information, introduction to appellation concepts, rudimentary service techniques as well as some of the food and wine pairing theories. The goal is for you to gain an appreciation for all types of wines and feel comfortable and confident when selecting and buying wine.”

For more details, visit the ISG (International Sommelier Guild) website.

